HOME NUTMILK MAKER

I like drinking soya bean milk. Whenever I passed by or went shopping at Tangs or Paragon, I would enjoy having a cup of sugar-free soya milk from the Jollibean stalls there.

Last month, I have finally bought a new Home NutMilk Maker from the electrical appliances department of Tangs. Perhaps I have not shopped around enough but I have never come across such an appliance in the market (neither departmental stores nor electrical shops), until I heard about it from a friend recently.

The Home Nutmilk Maker comes in three pieces – the main body, a “cage” and a container.

As this is the only home-use soya bean milk maker that I have seen, there is no way for comparison. However, I find it a simple, easy-to-use machine that also has a sensor to prevent overflow and a micro switch as a safety feature. The whole process of making the soya bean milk takes less than 20 minutes. The soya beans will need to be soaked in water for about 6 hours (or minimum 4 hours) before putting them to cook.

Above Left : Start of process – Pe-Heating of water and soya beans (takes about 5-6 minutes).

Above Right : This is followed by Grinding and Heating in which the beans are ground in four cycles, and heated during the grinding intervals . Upon completion of Grinding and Heating, boiling of the soya bean milk continues until the Beeper sounds to mark the completion of the entire process.

This machine can also be used to cook Chinese desserts like peanut paste (花生糊), black sesame paste (芝麻糊), almond paste (杏仁糊)and green/red bean soup(绿/红豆汤). So far, I have only tried out the black sesame paste.

I use organic soya beans as they are a healthier choice. Furthermore, both DS and I find the soya bean milk tastes better with organic beans.

Oh, I simply love the convenience of having this machine. It is also a treat to be able to enjoy healthy, sugar-free, home-made organic soya bean milk almost everyday!! 😀

4 thoughts on “HOME NUTMILK MAKER”

  1. Hi, I also have this same machine! But I’ve lost the manual. Can share what is the recipe for making the green/red bean soup? How many cups of bean? And using soy milk function or the creamy function? Where do you get your organic soy beans? Thanks!
    Kellie

  2. Hi Kellie,

    According to the manual, use one cup (or 100g) of green/red beans and soak them for an hour before cooking. Use the “Green/Red Bean” function. The total cooking time is about 18 to 19 mins – approx 5 mins for pre-heating, 7 cycles of grinding and heating, followed by extended boiling.

    I buy my organic soy beans from Fairprice. Check out the Organic section in Fairprice and you should be able to find the brand Origins Healthfood. If I don’t remember wrongly, the price is S$3.85 per packet and enough for 4-5 times of cooking.

    Hope the info helps.

  3. Thanks! My soymilk maker doesn’t have redbean/green bean functioin : (. Yours must be the newer version. Anyway, thanks!

  4. Hi Kellie,

    I See. Now I understand why you mentioned Creamy function which is not available on mine. Perhaps the Creamy function will be suitable for red/green beans?

Leave a Reply

