OISHII JAPANESE FOOD 美味しい日本料理

Are you a fan of Japanese food? DS and I certainly are, so is our 15-year-old niece!

Except for soba, I enjoy most Japanese food, in particular sashimi and sushi.

In Shenton Way area where I used to work, there are quite a number of Japanese restaurants, big or small. My best record of eating Japanese food was thrice a week and that was really enjoyable! I am sure I will not get sick of eating Japanese food even on a daily basis!

I always think that similar to eating wasabi, eating sashimi and sushi requires what we called acquired taste, and many people dare not even try the raw fish at all. I was so impressed by my young niece a few years ago when I saw how she enjoyed eating sashimi and salmon roes (ikura). On the opposite side, our younger nephews spat out the ikura sushi almost immediately the first time they ate it! Just how very true that one man’s meat is another man’s poison!

For an average Japanese meal, DS and I enjoy going to Sushi Tei which has a total of 9 outlets in Singapore. We normally go to the one in Paragon. Although there is a long list of choices to choose from the menu, we normally have a few so-called “standard” that we will not miss, beside ordering a few others. In our most recent visit with my sisters and niece, we tried out otoro (tuna belly) with pepper and ikasumi (squid ink) pasta which were good.

Hamachi Carpacci (yellowtail sashimi), sashimi salad, ikura sushi, saba shioyaki and fried olive rice. Saba shioyaki is a must for me! I love eating most types of fish, fresh or cooked.

Have you seen a fresh sea urchin before? Although I have tried a small piece once during one of my business trips to Japan many years ago, it was at the Nogawa Restaurant (located at Le Meridien Singapore Hotel) that DS and I had ever eaten a whole fresh sea urchin (below) each. That was an unforgettable attempt!

The most expensive sashimi we have ever had was otoro at Nadaman (Shangri-la Singapore Hotel) many years ago. That plate of 5 small pieces of otoro was S$75. The price is probably much higher now.

I will never fail to eat a lot of pickled ginger at Japanese restaurants as I like its refreshing taste! Many years ago, I learned from a Japanese friend that pickled ginger is not to be eaten with soya sauce and it serves as a palate cleanser between types of sashimi. Recently, I came across an interesting article entitled “How To Eat Sushi Sexily”. Below is an excerpt from the article and thought you may be interested too, if you have not come across it.

  1. Pour some soy sauce into saucer. Resist the urge to plonk in a hunk of wasabi and stir till it resembles booger-filled sludge.
  2. Usually, there’s already wasabi in the sushi, so there is no need to put extra. But if you insist, you can dab a bit more on the fish.
  3. Use your chopsticks to nudge your sushi so it rests on its side. Secure it snugly between your sticks so the fish doesn’t slide off. Use your fingers in you want to be super authentic.
  4. Plunge it into soy sauce fish side down. Dipping it rice side down will cause the sushi to soak up too much salty sauce. Worse, it may leave an ugly rice trail in the saucer – only acceptable if you’re six.
  5. Insert the entire bundle into your mouth and chew, with your mouth closed. Moaning in pleasure like the hosts of Japan Hour is not recommended.
  6. Next, daintily nibble on a slice of ginger to cleanse your palate.

Have a great time eating sushi and sashimi the next time you visit a Japanese restaurant!

2 thoughts on “OISHII JAPANESE FOOD 美味しい日本料理”

  1. FY, 难得吃趣相同, 下次见面就约在Sushi Tei吧!

    Btw, are you aware that they offer member discount cards? I just got mine 🙂

Leave a Reply

