THE END OF LIFE OF SOMETHING DEAR

It has been slightly over four weeks since I last posted an entry. Wow, this long!

Well, I am still alive and kicking but had been a little busy lately with several knitty-gritty stuff. Housekeeping was one of the tasks that I wanted to and finally got down to do! 😀 Much time was spent reorganizing the huge amount of photos that are stored on my external hard disk. In fact I am not done with this yet and I wonder if I would ever complete it. I have a humongous amount (140GB to be exact) of photos and video clips stored and I am not even a serious photographer!

Another housekeeping task involved tidying up of my bookshelves and cabinets. Friends who have visited our place would know that we have lots of built-in shelves and cabinets in our study room, to provide a large storage space. When DS and I moved in to our current home six and a half years ago, I was both proud and satisfied with our study room and little did I expect to have already run out of storage space by now!

In the process of my housekeeping, sadly, I have to say goodbye to a few things that had remained dear to me for many years but no longer functioning now. I have decided to blog about them so to keep them in memories.

One of them is a Hewlett Packard scientific programmable calculator which my eldest brother bought me during my first year of tertiary education. Then, programmable calculators were not allowed during exams but I had been able to convince the invigilators to allow me to use it throughout my three-year course. Thanks to their trust in me but I suppose I have an honest face (actually, I didn’t know how to use the programmable features at all)! 😀

hp11c

Unlike most normal or scientific calculators, this calculator does not have an equal sign on the keypad. I got so used to it that I always have problem using a normal calculator that has an equal function! It has served me well for a good 20+ years, even in the course of my work.

I will also be parting with 3 watches that have broken down but not worth the repair anymore. Really sad!! These watches aren’t the expensive type but special to me in one way or another.

From L to R : (1) This watch does not have a crown for adjusting the time.  Time adjustment is made by pressing the glass face of the watch.  (2) This watch was bought at Narita airport, Japan in one of my business trips and (3) My first Swarovski watch has has already been repaired once a couple of years ago.
From L to R : (1) This watch does not have a crown for adjusting the time. Time adjustment is made by pressing the glass face of the watch. (2) This watch was bought at Narita airport, Japan in one of my business trips and (3) My first Swarovski watch that has already been repaired once a couple of years ago.

I used to have a liking for watches and there was even time that I thought of becoming a watch collector! Of course, I didn’t become one as that is not a practical hobby as far as cost and maintenance are concerned! It will be a different story all together if I were a rich tai tai. Haha…

We, humans beings are the only creature on the earth that build homes and amass a lot of things in life. Come to think about it, wouldn’t life be a lot simpler if we live with less – less desires, less possessions, less needs…..- just like the nomads surviving in the wild or even animals?! After all, we can’t bring anything with us when we pass on.

Leave a Reply

