MACARON vs UHUHU

Whenever I pass by this pastry shop at the corner of Shaw Centre at Orchard Road, I am always attracted to the colourful macarons sold by the shop. They just look so inviting.

Last night, when I passed by the shop again after my Japanese lesson, I decided to bring a few home for a light supper although DS and I don’t have the habit of eating supper. Sometimes, I like the idea of trying out something new. In fact, DS did not even know what they were called. Mini sweet burgers?

macaron

First, I was a little shocked at the price – S$15.50 for a box with 6 small pieces (or S$2.58 per piece, to be exact). They are expensive, aren’t they? I began to wonder what’s so special about them to cost this much! Then, it turned out that they did not impress us at all. In fact, they were overly sweet. I was disappointed.

I think curiosity kills sometimes….

I am not sure why but these little macarons somehow reminded me of the Mini Uhu! Hu! (mini cup-sized cheese cakes) that DS and I tasted at the Loaf in Pavilion Kuala Lumpur, a few months ago. The Loaf is a bakery owned by Dr Mahathir, former Prime Minister of Malaysia. The Mini Uhu! Hu! were simply so yummy even for me who is never fond of cheese cakes. The portion was just right, and they were definitely better value for money. I will surely be keen to go back there if I ever visit Kuala Lumpur again. Don’t miss it when you are there.

These Mini Uhu! Hu! came in a variety of flavours, and I picked Harmonious Green Tea, Blueberry, Luxurious Chocolate and Healthy Oats.
These Mini Uhu! Hu! came in a variety of flavours, and I picked Harmonious Green Tea, Blueberry, Luxurious Chocolate and Healthy Oats.

I wonder if The Loaf would ever come to Singapore?

Leave a Reply

