2009 FORMULA 1 SINGAPORE GRAND PRIX – VROOM, ZOOM AND BOOMS

Interesting, exciting, tiring but memorable. These are the words I would use to sum up my experience watching F1 car race live for the first time ever in my life when I attended the 2009 Formula 1 Singtel Singapore Grand Prix (night races) last weekend.

I have mentioned in my previous blog entry that I am not a fan of F1 and I was not sure if I would enjoy myself. Well, I am glad that I had a great time despite having to stay late for three consecutive nights and suffering huge crowds everywhere in the Marina area. It was through this first-hand experience that I learned a lot more about F1 race and got a better idea on how the event is like.

Lewis Hamilton’s win that night made the event even more memorable for me because I am his supporter! I was both thrilled and touched when watching the British flag being raised at the podium over the big screen, and hearing a group of his British supporters seated behind us singing the British anthem loudly and proudly.

A newly formed F1 team by Malaysia will join in the race from the next season (2010) and I wonder if there will ever be the day when Singapore will have its F1 team?

Must have for the event – the survival kit which costs S$2 and consists of a pair of ear plugs and a poncho. Thanks to the great weather throughout the event and we did not have to use the poncho at all!F1 Singapore2

Crowds everywhere!F1 Singapore1

Great demand for beer during the 3 nights. S$8 per cup of Tiger beer and S$10 per cup of Heikenen beer!F1 Singapore6

Lots and lots of manpower deployed to put the event in good orderF1 Singapore11

Racing accident happened every nightF1 Singapore18

Large crowds waiting patiently near the Bay Grandstand to catch a glimpse of the drivers during the Drivers’ Parade on Sunday (27 Sep) eveningF1 Singapore3

Timo Glock from Panasonic Toyota Racing. He won the second place in the raceF1 Singapore9

Loudest cheers for Lewis Hamilton during the Drivers’ Parade!! He was in pole position for the race and was the winner for the night as well.F1 Singapore4

The upcoming new landmark for the Marina Bay area – The Marina Sands IR (Integrated Resort) which is due to open in 2010F1 Singapore8

Drivers’ in action. Lewis Hamilton leading all the way!F1 Singapore12

Jarno Trulli of Panasonic Toyota Racing and Fernando Alonso of Renault Team

F1 Singapore13

Kimi Raikkonen of FerrariF1 Singapore15

Jenson Button of Brawn GPF1 Singapore 16

A stroll down the racing track around the Bay Grandstand area after the raceF1 Singapore7

A group of Lewis Hamilton’s supporters at the track after the race.F1 Singapore5

Vintage cars used for the Drivers’ Parade on display near Empress PlaceF1 Singapore17

Will I want to watch the race live again in future? Well, I don’t know yet. I have to say that the tickets are expensive but if I could, I would be interested in those S$1,388 Pit-stop tickets to be able to see all the “happenings” there. My younger sister, a fan of F1 and a supporter of Kimi Raikkonen, was very fortunate to have received a complimentary S$1,388 ticket from her friend. I hope I will be this lucky someday!! 😀

Leave a Reply

