HAPPY BIRTHDAY, HELLO KITTY!

It’s 1 November, and Hello Kitty turns 37 years-old today!

I can’t remember since when I started to take a liking for Hello Kitty.  Perhaps, it was after I started working in a Japanese company many years ago.  Before that, I used to like Garfield and Winnie the Pooh, but that did not last as long as Hello Kitty.

I am not sure if I can be called a fan of Hello Kitty.  According to dictionary, a Fan is defined as “a person who has strong interest in or admiration for a particular sport, art form, or famous people“.  Though I have a liking for Hello Kitty that has not faded away after all these years,  my interest in it is not so strong that would get me crazy over it!  The only time I got a little excited over it was probably when MacDonalds was having promotions with Hello Kitty and Dear Daniel wedding couple soft toys.  I think that was in the years 1999 and 2001.  Even then, I did not queue for them like many did, and I don’t think I had actually collected the complete set.  Here’s what I have.  There are more than 10 years old now, and are still nicely kept in one of my cupboards.

This one is my favourite

Malay wedding

This one below is special – Millennium Wedding.

The following are from the King and Queen series and if I remember correctly, by MacDonalds in Malaysia. Thanks to my elder sister who bought me these although there are just three of them.

Kingdom King & Queen

Oops, the Chinese King is missing!

I am still not sure what to do with these lovely soft toys when I get old, but for now, I still can’t bear to part with them yet. 🙂

I have this good friend of 16 years who would never fail to buy me gifts or souvenirs whenever she travels, be it on business trips or leisure.  And these are a few Hello Kitty stuff that she has bought me – pocket mirror, iPhone case and external battery for iPhone!  Although these are not original products (DS and I do not support pirated goods),  they are still precious to me because they are kind thoughts from my dear friend.  I especially like the external iPhone battery which is handy and useful when I am out on a long day, and my battery runs out after surfing too much on the iPhone.

And the following are what I have bought (and collected) over the years, mostly during my trips to Japan.

Bought in 2009, a couple of them are from Universal Studio Japan – the only Universal Studio in the world that features Hello Kitty.  The 2009 trip to Japan was a trip that I bought the most Hello Kitty products!

This watch is also from Universal Studio Japan.  Two years now, it is still working fine and I still don’t have to change its battery!

These Kebaya Hello Kitty luggage tags are cute, aren’t they? They were Singapore Airlines’ exclusive inflight sales items.  I also bought them in 2009, on my way back from Osaka.  It came in a set of three and I gave one away to my friend’s daughter.

 

The following are from the 90’s!

The one on the left is a name card holder which I bought during my second business trip in Japan, in early 1999.  The Santa Hello Kitty which can vibrate is from an ex Japanese colleague, sent all the way to me from Tokyo, after he took notice that I have a liking for Hello Kitty.  What a thoughtful guy!  And the one in the middle is from DS.  Can you guess what this is? (Answer at the bottom)

And this is one item which I wish to have someday – Hello Kitty Red Apple by Swarovski 🙂

(Answer : it is a pager!  Is there anyone out there still using a pager?  This pager has long become a display item).

4 thoughts on “HAPPY BIRTHDAY, HELLO KITTY!”

  1. Hi there, just wonder if I can buy the Hello Kitty Kebaya Luggage tag from you? the one with a orange ribbon on her head. Thank you

  2. Hi Leverett,

    Thank you for visiting my blog and I hope you find it an interesting read.

    I am sorry I don’t have an orange one. I have given one to my friend’s daughter and left with only the lime green and pink ones which I use them.

    I am not sure if Singapore Airlines still sells them. You may want to check out its website or send them an enquiry online, if you are still keen to get one.

    Happy 2014.

    Qing

  3. Hi Qing,

    I already tried sending my inquiry to Singapore Airlines; however, they told me that those tags neither their product nor commissioned by them. Also, tried other other website; unfortunately, they don’t have it either. By any chance, do you sell your pink one?

    Happy new year and thank you so much for your response.

    Leverett

  4. Hi Leverett,

    Sorry for my late reply.

    I am surprised with the response from SQ because I bought them on SQ flight, on my way back from Osaka in December 2009. Perhaps they don’t carry the item anymore.

    I am afraid I can’t sell any of my remaining two to you because they have been used many times in my holiday trips, and aren’t new anymore. Furthermore, they are precious to me. I am sorry I have to disappoint you.

    Qing

Leave a Reply

