CONGRATULATIONS TOKYO! 東京、おめでとう!

I woke up this morning to the good news that Tokyo has won the right to host the 32nd summer olympics in year 2020.  I just can’t help feeling very happy for Tokyo although the city is more than 5,000km away from Singapore!

Japan is my favourite country in Asia and it is one country that I have travelled to most, be it on work purposes (when I was working for Japanese MNCs) or for leisure.  DS and I have just had a nice winter holiday in Hokkaido earlier this year, and we already have our flights booked for another holiday in Japan early next year.  This time, we will be going back to Tokyo, spending a few days there before moving on to other parts of Japan which I have yet to planned out the detailed itinerary.  I hope we will be able to feel the mood of 2020 Olympics by the time we go! 😀

Why do I like Japan so much?  It is simply because Japan is a country that never fails to fascinate me each time I go, be it tourist attractions, nature, superior and reliable transport systems, cleanliness and orderliness, food, people, culture, social practices, safety or shopping etc. etc.  I am also beginning to love the Japanese onsen and its unique onsen culture!

Japan has suffered an enormous damage since the 2011 Tohoku earthquake and tsunami (also known as Great East Japan Earthquake or 3.11 Earthquake) that killed more than 15,000 people and injured more than 6,000 people.  Today, more that 2,500 are still missing.  The latest reports on contaminated water leakage at the crippled Fukushima nuclear plant still cast a lot of doubts and concerns over safety in Japan. The issues with Fukushima nuclear plant are indeed a huge challenge that needs to be overcome by Japan and I hope they will.

I am already looking forward to a spectacular Olympic games by Tokyo seven years later.  I believe they will, because the Japanese are known to be reliable and also resilient, and not forgetting that the country has already had the experiences of hosting three Olympic games in the past – Tokyo summer Olympics in 1964 (so long ago!), Sapporo Winter Olympics in 1972, and Nagano Winter Olympics in 1998.  The 1964 Tokyo Olympics was the first time an Olympic games was ever held in Asia!

Congratulations Tokyo and the people of Japan!

東京、頑張れ!!

Leave a Reply

