MY KIMCHI TOFU SOUP

Home-cooked kimchi tofu soup for dinner tonight to satisfy my craving. 🙂

Kimchi Tofu Soup

I am not sure why but I have been craving for different types of food like nasi lemak, mee-hoon kueh etc., lately.  Kimchi tofu soup which is a common Korean spicy hot soup, is what I have been craving for since last week!

The main ingredients for kimchi tofu soup normally consists of kimchi, tofu, meat or seafood.  I have tasted pretty good one with clams.  Clams somehow enhance the flavour and sweetness of the soup.  Since clams are not easily available from the market downstairs and I was too lazy to to go to a nearby supermarkets (by bus), I decided to use anchovies to make the stock and have a simple version of the soup without meat or other seafood.

Trying out this kimchi and Korean chili paste for the first time.  I bought them from a Korean mart in Bedok Mall last weekend.  I wished there were some English words on the label of the chili paste so that I could know what are in the paste!

Tofu Kimchi Soup1

Making anchovies stock using a small fire. I normally use a disposable pack to contain the anchovies as it is “cleaner” this way.  I just need to remove the pack when the stock is ready and this saves me the trouble of filtering the anchovies out.

Kimchi Tofu Soup2

These disposable packs that I used are available from Isetan Supermarket.Disposable packs

The making of the soup is pretty simple –  add a table spoon of chili paste* into the anchovies stock, stir well and put in the rest of the ingredients. Boil for a few minutes and the soup is ready.  It was that simple.

(*Quantity of chili paste may vary depends on individuals’ taste preference).

Making use of the new salt meter which I bought in Japan last month to check out the saltiness.  Good, it is only 0.6-0.8% of saltiness (i.e. low), and this is what I prefer. 🙂

Kimchi Tofu Soup3

What’s up next?  I am now craving for …. oh dear, how am I going to shed that extra 2+ kgs that I gained from my holiday in Japan?

Leave a Reply

