MY FIRST WAFFLE-MAKING ATTEMPT

I bought a Tefal waffle maker last week.

Waffle Maker

I went shopping for it last week at Takashimaya, both its Kitchen’s department and Best Denki located on the fourth floor within Takashimaya.  I was hoping to have a few choices to pick from but it turned out this is the one and only brand/model available there.

This is how the waffle-maker looks like when opened, with the non-stick plates removed.

Waffle Maker2

It comes with two sets of interchangeable plates, one set for making waffles, and the other for grilling or even toasting bread.

Waffle Maker3

Waffles Maker4

It is rather unlikely that I will use this Tefal appliance for grilling food or toasting bread.  I have a Sharp Healsio water oven that serves me well when it comes to grilling, and also a Philips bread toaster which I just bought a couple of months ago to replace the old one.  However, they won’t be a white elephant because I can still use them in my oven 🙂

So, this was my very first waffle-making attempt this morning!

Waffle Maker5

Since it was my first-time, I decided to just do a simple plain waffle but will surely be interested to explore other variations like Pandan waffles, choco waffles or even fruit waffles, in future.

I learned that by putting the waffles on a rack if they were not going to be served immediately, will prevent the bottom of the waffles from turning soggy.  Good tips from The Joy of Baking.

Waffles1

Waffles are really easy to make.  I used the following ingredients which is a slight modification to the recipe taken from The Joy of Baking.

  • 130g plain flour
  • 1 1/2 teaspoon (or about 5g) of baking powder
  • 1/4 teaspoon of salt
  • 10g granulated raw sugar (instead of 25g granulated white sugar as in the recipe)
  • 1 large egg
  • 250ml low-fat milk
  • 15g unsalted butter (instead of 28g as in the recipe)

They turned out well – crispy outside and soft inside.  So, this was my breakfast – two pieces of waffles coated with a small quantity of honey on top (waffles go really well with honey), and topped with strawberries and blueberries.  I wanted to have a variety of berries including blackberries and raspberries but couldn’t get some real fresh ones from Cold Storage yesterday.

Waffles2

There are many ways to eat waffles and I also don’t think that waffles are limited to breakfast only.  Will be happy to share my future waffle attempts here.

Happy Sunday!

Leave a Reply

