Sesame Salad Dressing

Another new attempt in my kitchen – sesame salad dressing – adapted from a food programme on TV that I came across just a few days ago.

Sesame Salad Dressing

It is a very simple recipe.  What I consider as special in this recipe is the use of soft silken tofu (instead of mayonnaise) as a base, thus a very healthy choice of dressing which is also ideal for vegetarians.

Ingredients :

  • Soft silken tofu
  • Sesame seeds – lightly toast and grind to bring out the nice aroma of the sesame seeds
  • Honey (you can also use sugar)
  • Vinegar (I used the Japanese vinegar used for making sushi)
  • Soy sauce (you can also use salt or salt and soy sauce, depending on your preference)
  • Sesame oil
  • Amount of seasonings depend on individuals’ preference.  I used one and a half table spoon each

As I wanted a thick and less watery version, I cut the soft silken tofu into pieces and left them in the fridge for an hour or so to drain out some of the water from the tofu.

Sesame Salad Dressing2

Then, mix all ingredients well in a blender and it’s ready to be used.  That simple!

Sesame Salad Dressing3

 I used the dressing for vegetable wraps.

Colourful mix of lettuce, carrot, cucumber, corns and cranberries.  Both carrot and cucumber grated using my Philips Salad Maker

Sesame Salad Dressing4

After mixing with the sesame salad dressing

Sesame Salad Dressing5

My dinner last night.  Nice & healthy!

Sesame Dressing Salad6

I think this dressing is not only suitable as a salad dressing but can be used as a dipping sauce for meats like beef and pork too.

For the Buddhists, Happy Vesak Day!

Leave a Reply

