COOK JAPANESE WITH TAMAKO

In my previous posting, I mentioned that I was reading “Cook Japanese with Tamako – Hearty Meals for the Whole Family“. I have now finished reading this book.  For the first time I was so intrigued by a cookbook that I actually read through it page by page, and went through the details of every recipe!

Cook Japanese

DS and I have slightly over 40 books related to cooking and baking on our bookshelves, a few of which were gifts from friends.

Cookbooks

Just last weekend, we have added to our existing collection, another two that we bought from Kinokuniya bookstore.   I will be reading 200 Skills Every Cook Must Know next. 🙂

Cookbooks2

Today, with heaps of cooking and baking information so readily available online, I wonder if there are still many people who buy hard copy publications like us.

I must admit that so far, I enjoy flipping through our collection of cookbooks mostly to appreciate the drooling food pictures in them, or only when searching for cooking or baking ideas.  I have used a few of the recipes which I picked from these books, but not so much about reading them at length or making real good use of them.  Sometimes I feel guilty for being a 積ん読 (a Japanese word pronounced as tsundoku, meaning piling up books bought without reading them!).  So, it’s time to do some justice to our “investments” over the years by reading some of them!

Cook Japanesse with Tamako is a collection of 54 Japanese home-cooked recipes covering soup and salad, vegetables, meat and seafood dishes as well as desserts, written by Tamako Sakamoto, a Japanese cooking columnist with The Japan News and also a mother of 4 schooling children.  I find the variety of recipes very interesting.  I like many Japanese foods, so it would certainly be great if I could cook them the Japanese way at home. 🙂

I love most of the recipes featured.  They are simple and practical, and many of them are pretty healthy too.  There are also good tips/info on variations in the ingredients used and cooking methods.  For example, one can actually cook Chawan Mushi (steamed egg) without the use of a food steamer!

The other thing that differentiate this book from many other cookbooks is the short stories and anecdotes on the writer’s family life and her children’s school activities that accompany the recipes.  Every story (one for each recipe) is short but interesting.  It not only talks about the writer’s life and her children, but also Japanese food, culture and tradition.  So, it was more like reading a story book!  I have also learned many Japanese words from the book!  So, it is really a case of killing many birds in one stone! 😀

Now, I am really inspired to have more fun in the kitchen by trying out Tamako’s recipes!  Surely, I will be happy to write about it when I do so.

Leave a Reply

