OYAKODON

When it comes to cooking, it is mostly a case of the chef’s (my) choice or omakase (in Japanese, meaning I leave it to you) as DS normally leaves it to me to decide what to cook.  This actually makes it very easy for me in the kitchen. 🙂

However, there is one particular dish that DS had requested me to cook, for some time now.  It is a dish with simple ingredients and does not require long preparation time but somehow, for whatever reason that I couldn’t even explain, I didn’t cook it until this week.

Oyakodon (親子丼), literally a parent-and-child donburi (Japanese rice bowl)

Oyakodon1

I adapted the recipe from Cook Japanese with Tamako cookbook which I wrote about some months ago.

The ingredients (for two) :

  • Half a big onion, thinly sliced.  I used Australian brown onion (a.k.a yellow onion)
  • 200g of chicken meat, cut into bite-size pieces (I used breast meat with its skin removed)
  • Chinese parsley (instead of Mitsuba, Japanese parsley)
  • 1/3 cube of (Maggi’s 50% less-salt) chicken stock in place of Japanese dashi stock.  (Dashi stock was to be prepared from boiling dried kelp, water and dried bonito flakes but I didn’t have the ingredients in my fridge. Neither did I have a bottle of ready-made dashi from the supermarket)
  • 100ml of water
  • 2 tbsp of mirin (sweet Japanese rice wine for cooking)
  • 1 tbsp of soya sauce (this is only half of the amount used in the original recipe as I prefer a lighter flavour)
  • 3 eggs

The cooking involves boiling only.  There was no need for frying/stir-frying at all.

  • Season chicken with soya sauce and mirin for a short while before cooking
  • In a small saucepan, add water, chicken stock and onion and bring them to boil. Then, add in chicken and continue boiling for a few minutes until the meat is thorough cooked, and the onion is soft.
  • Break 3 eggs onto the top of the chicken-and-onion mixture, spread them out to cover the mixture, sprinkle parsley on it. Cover the saucepan and continue boiling for a few minutes until the eggs are set
  • Lastly, serve the cooked rice into a bowl and top it with half the mixture.

Sweet and yummy.  I have used short-grain brown rice instead of white rice which is a common version.

Oyakodon

This is really one very simple recipe.  It is very ideal for those who want a quick fix for lunch or dinner, or even for the newbies in the kitchen.

I was really happy the DS was satisfied with the meal.  He even suggested that I cook it for my parents the next time we visit them.  What a brilliant suggestion! I will surely be happy to do so if my parents are interested.  They, especially my dad, can be quite particular about food!

There is one more dish that DS wants me to cook.  I will get down to it, hopefully before the year ends.  12 days to 2015!

Leave a Reply

