MID AUTUMN FESTIVAL AT THE GARDENS

After visiting the Flower Dome for the Celebration of Chrysanthemums floral display, I decided to stay on for the lantern sets display in the Gardens by the Bay since I was already there.  If I don’t remember wrongly, the lanterns event held in celebration of the Mid Autumn Festival (中秋节), started in 2013 at Gardens by the Bay but I had not been to the past two events.

With my mask on, I sat on a bench in one corner of the gardens and waited patiently for the lantern lights to come on at 7pm.  But they didn’t, not even 15 minutes past 7pm.  It was only after I approached a staff that I realised that the lanterns event that evening was the first day, and Minister Khaw Boon Wan was on his way to the Gardens by the Bay to grace the opening of the event at 7:30pm.  So I decided to wait for another short while and luckily I did or I would have to miss the event again due to the bad haze condition in the days that followed.

Minister Khaw and his entourage making their way in for the opening ceremony

IMG_6866

After witnessing the very simple ceremony to light up the lantern sets by Minister Khaw, I had to rush through the lantern sets (spread out in various locations in the gardens), and even give a few of them a miss because I didn’t want my hubby to wait for me too long for dinner.

Birds Singing in Harmony – at the main entrance of the Gardens by the Bay

IMG_6870

IMG_6880

IMG_6881

Arches of Floral & Insects

IMG_6872

IMG_6875

IMG_6876

This year, there is a total of 17 lantern sets compromising of some 300 handmade lanterns.

Otters and Koi Fish

IMG_6885

Year of the Goat – In conjunction of Singapore’s 50th birthday, these specially designed goat lanterns were hand-painted by the public, in the form of a competition

IMG_6888

IMG_6894

IMG_6891

  IMG_6899

I found the goat lanterns too cluttered up, thus making it a bit difficult to appreciate the painting on them.

Lively-looking Giraffes and Zebras

IMG_6904

IMG_6907

IMG_6908

The 12 Chinese Zodiac.  Can you recognise them all? 

Zodiac 1Zodiac2

At the Supertree Grove area, there were also food street, cultural performances, games such as solving lantern riddles (猜燈謎) and huge vertical Chinese chess game, but I didn’t have the time to check them out.

IMG_6922

Lions, Tigers & Jaguars

IMG_6925 (1)

 IMG_6926

IMG_6929 (1)

Garden Rhapsody @ Supertree Grove (25 September)

Racial Harmony (Indian & Malay)

IMG_6930

IMG_6932

IMG_6934

More animal lanterns along the way to Dragonfly Lake

IMG_6937

IMG_6938

Arches of Sea Animals on Dragonfly Bridge.  It was quite crowded on the bridge as visitors continued to flood in.

IMG_6940

IMG_6948

Majestic Sea Palace on one side of Dragonfly Lake

IMG_6952

2 of the 3 Dragon Boats on the other side of Dragongfly Lake

IMG_6957

IMG_6959

IMG_6960

I missed out the Elephants, Dinosaurs, Tree of Life and Racial Harmony (Chinese) lantern sets.

IMG_6864

Nevertheless, it was a very enjoyable evening going around “hunting” for the lanterns.

The lantern event at the Gardens by the Bay was spectacular.  I was impressed with the designs and the quality of the lanterns.  I  can only imagine that it was a very massive task and costly too, to put up such a public event.  Perhaps if would be even better if the event could run for a longer duration like 2-3 weeks or even a month so that more people (both locals and tourists) get to enjoy the lovely lanterns.  I think 10 days are a little too short. 🙂

Leave a Reply

